LibGuides: VCE Legal Studies Units 1 & 2: Civil Law

Tort Law

Don't know your Clickview username & password?

Civil Law links

Law Stuff: Know your rights
Information on a range of topics both civil and criminal for young people in Australia.
VCAT [Victorian Civil and Administration Tribunal]
Deals with a range of disputes, including Residential Tenacies, Consumer Issues, Administrative (taxation, local council, TAC, etc) and Human Rights.

Fitzroy Legal Service: Provides legal advice and representation to qualifying members of the community on a range of Civil and Criminal matters. The Law Handbook is available for free on The Law Handbook website. The website contains:

all of the content of The Law Handbook;
online links to legislation and cases, and
a searchable database of the contact details of relevant legal and non-legal services.

Slater and Gordon
This well-known law firm deals with high profile civil law cases. Read the influential cases that the firm are working on at the moment in their media releases.

Liberty Victoria

Liberty Victoria lobbies government to change laws it deems impact on a person's liberty. Read their submissions to parliament here.

Civil Law playlist

The playlist below includes outlines of Australian employment, privacy, and bankruptcy laws, as well as tenancy & landlord rights & obligations, and consumer rights.

Legal Briefs: Civil justice

Don't know your Clickview username & password?

Email Library Staff for login details.

From the Victorian Virtual Learning Network, the difference between Criminal Law and Civil Law

Suing and being sued
Describes the difference between civil law and criminal law and the processes and procedures when suing.
Disputes and Torts
The main purpose of civil law is to consider disputes, to facilitate a resolution between the disputing parties and to identify who is responsible or liable. These lawgovpol.com topic pages are concise summaries about topics related to torts and disputes.