Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library is open 8.00 to 4.30 Mon-Thurs, 8.00 to 3.30 Fri. Extended hours for Year 12 students: 8.00 - 5.30 Mon-Thurs. We also have a selection of games available to play during recess and lunch. Only games from the Library are to be played.
Searching databases: Finding online articles
Searching databases: finding newspaper articles
Locating resources in languages other than English
Searching Library catalogues
The SLV's help page on how to search their catalogue
No videos, just text.
Includes how to: browse the catalogue; conduct a basic or advanced search; find an article; using ejournals A–Z; finding newspapers; using databases A–Z; using "My items" & "My account"; saving searches & alerts; and accessing eresources from home.
Setting up Google Scholar
If you use the standard Google Scholar site, you’ll often find results that aren’t freely available in full-text. To access more of the articles you need, change the settings in Google Scholar to link your results to the SLV's databases.
How to link into a Library's full-text subscription databases with Google Scholar
1. Go to scholar.google.com.au and click on Settings, which is the gear icon in the upper right-hand portion of the screen.
2. Click on Library links in the left-hand menu.
3. Hit Save and conduct a search in Scholar. Click the GetIt@Library link attached to each search result, which contains full-text links to the Library's subscriptions. You will be prompted to log in with your ID and password before being granted access to the full text.